Legislative Committee Chair Welcome Message

Posted by wsdsaadmin on Apr 6, 2017 in Legislative Updates | Comments Offon Legislative Committee Chair Welcome Message

Greetings all. My name is Jeff Klatt.  For those of you who may not know me, I am the District 4 Director for the Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association and also the Legislative Committee Chair.  Between myself, the committee, Hamilton-Consulting, and business agent Sandy, I will try to keep this website updated, as best as possible, with legislative news and things that have been going on in Madison.

The current members of the legislative committee are:

Captain Jeff Klatt, Chairperson – St. Croix County
Chief Deputy Jeff Spencer – Sauk County
Sheriff Jim Johnson – Ozaukee County
Sheriff Chip Meister – Sauk County
Sgt. R.J. Lurquin – Dane County
Sheriff Bruce Daniels – Taylor County
Sheriff Terry Dryden – Washburn County
Sheriff Nancy Hove, President WS&DSA – Pierce County

If you have any questions or concerns about any legislative issues, feel free to contact me or any one of the committee members.

Badger State Sheriff’s Association has recently contracted with Hamilton Consulting Group for their legislative lobbyist. Starting last month, we are going to be having a joint meeting/telephone conference with Badger Sheriff’s, Hamilton Consulting Group, and ourselves to discuss any pending and upcoming issues we will address as a group.

As the first legislative update for this session, you will find under this tab, a brief update as to what WS&DSA has been watching in Madison and what our priority issues are at the present. Thanks to Caty McDermott from Hamilton for compiling this update for me.

As always, you can contact me with any questions or concerns about the legislative issues or anything having to do with the WS&DSA.

Thanks and stay safe.

Jeff Klatt
District 4 Director
Legislative Committee Chair